Brief History

About ABA

The ABA grew out of the East Asian Biophysics Symposium (EABS) and was founded in 2006 to promote Biophysics research and collaboration in the Asia-Pacific region. Member societies currently include the Biophysical Societies of Australia, China, Hong Kong, India, Japan, Korea, and Taiwan.

The President of the ABA is Professor Danny Hatters from University of Melbourne.

Every 2-3 years since 2006, one of the member countries has hosted a major symposium that brings together Biophysical researchers from the region and beyond.

The next meeting will be held in Taiwan, in May, 2021.

Symposia in the past

1994 May: The 1st East Asian Symposium on Biophysics (Harima, Hyogo, Japan)

1997 May: The 2nd East Asian Symposium on Biophysics (Beijing, China)

2000 May: The 3rd East Asian Symposium on Biophysics (Kyonju, Korea)

2003 Nov.: The 4th East Asian Symposium on Biophysics (Taipei, China)

2006 Nov.: The 5th East Asian Symposium on Biophysics (Okinawa, Japan)

In 2006, the East Asia Biophysics Association was extended to the ABA.

2009 Jan.: The 6th Asian Biophysics Association Symposium (Hong Kong, China)

2011 Jan.: The 7th Asian Biophysics Association Symposium (New Delhi, India)

2013 May: The 8th Asian Biophysics Association Symposium (Jeju, Korea)

2015 May: The 9th Asian Biophysics Association Symposium (Hangzhou, China)

2018 Dec.: The 10th Asian Biophysics Association Symposium (Melbourne, Australia)